Close this search box.

Pakistan wins non-permanent UNSC seat


Pakistan on Thursday was elected as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council (UNSC) with a substantial majority, committing to address the significant global challenges.

Unopposed in the election, Pakistan secured 182 out of 193 votes in the General Assembly, significantly surpassing the required two-thirds majority of 124 votes.

The General Assembly Hall resounded with applause when its president, Dennis Francis, announced the winners of the five non-permanent seats: Pakistan, Denmark, Greece, Panama, and Somalia. These nations will replace Japan, Ecuador, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland, whose terms end on December 31. President Francis congratulated the newly elected members on their victory.

Pakistan will take over the Asian seat from Japan on January 1, 2025, marking its eighth term on the council.

Upon exiting the hall, Pakistan’s permanent representative to the UN, Munir Akram, was asked by an APP correspondent about Pakistan’s priorities and goals as a member of the 15-member council.

Ambassador Akram stated that Pakistan’s election reflects the international community’s confidence in Pakistan’s capability to uphold the purposes and principles of the UN Charter. He emphasized that Pakistan would collaborate actively with other council members to further shared objectives, particularly focusing on conflict prevention and peaceful resolution, in alignment with the UN Charter.

Pakistan previously served on the council in the terms 2012-13, 2003-04, 1993-94, 1983-84, 1976-77, 1968-69, and 1952-53.

Related Stories:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *